Tags

, , ,

Given that these truffles are one of the things that inspired me to start up this blog, I thought it only fitting that I kick it off with them!  I made these for my partner and I to enjoy on our baby’s first Christmas day.  Having never attempted truffles before, I was delighted at how easy and yummy these were – impossible to just stop at one!  And the potential for extra creativeness is limitless – I look forward to playing around with this recipe someday.

In the meantime, here is the basic recipe for delicious, smooth, silky truffles (based on this recipe from allrecipes.com.au)

Colourful chocolate deliciousness!

Ingredients (makes 60):

250 g cream cheese, softened (e.g. Philadelphia cream cheese)
500 g (3 cups) icing sugar, sifted
375 g dark chocolate, melted
1 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Toppings of choice (e.g. sprinkles, nuts, melted chocolate for dipping)

Method:

1. Beat cream cheese until smooth in a large bowl.  Beat in icing sugar until well blended.  Stir in melted chocolate and vanilla until no streaks remain.

2. Refrigerate for an hour.  Shape into balls.  Roll in your toppings of choice.

Done!  Easy!

 

I rolled mine in hundreds and thousands, chocolate sprinkles and dipped some in melted Toblerone – yum!!  I think some chopped nuts would also be a great topping.  Cocoa or icing sugar would also be worth a try.  I think you could also experiment with putting things in the middle to make a centre.

I think one of the keys to making these delicious is your choice of chocolate.  I used dark Lindt chocolate, and I’m sure using good quality chocolate made these extra yummy.

I found it was best to keep these in the fridge for a nice fudgy texture.

Enjoy!  And let me know if you discover any successful and yummy variations 🙂